Living with a PIG!

20170503_200118This was Baby Girl’s room last Wednesday.  The hamster had escaped. She was lying on the floor amongst her “stuff”, looking for it under the wardrobe (look closely it’s hard to see her.)  She was in bits, sobbing and make a huge fuss, as she couldn’t find the hamster for all the stuff!  Hubby eventually found it, next to the hamster food bag, with suspiciously large cheeks and a happy look on its face.

Baby Girl declared she needed to sort her stuff out, because it and everything in the world was “IMPOSSIBLE!”

The next day, she had a day off school because of teacher training.  I went to the shop, before she had even got up and 20170504_085148bought her some boxes.  I even printed off some big labels.  I thought this might make it easier for her to clean her own room, because as I mentioned in a previous post, I have stopped doing it for her.  She wasn’t as excited about the boxes as I thought she should be (I love boxes, and this would have sent me into a frenzy of excitement!)

Off she went upstairs.  After about 20 minutes of banging sounds, she came downstairs and threw herself on the couch in full drama queen mode!  The arm was flung across her face and she was making whimpering noises.  “I just can’t do it – it’s too overwhelming!”

Sigh…..

So, I said, “Right you have my help for 1 hour.  Let’s go – now!”  I went upstairs and started ordering her about like a sergeant major.  I got her to find and collect all her t-shirts, then all her leggings, then all her jumpers etc. etc.  I neatly folded everything and put them in the correctly labelled boxes.  Once we had done that, the rest was easy.

And TA DA, it was neat and tidy.  It wouldn’t be how I would want to decorate my space, with open boxes of clothes, but this seemed to be the best solution.  

20170510_100653And this is how it is after 1 week – still tidy!!  I am in shock.  I keep checking that she hasn’t left stuff on the floor, but it seems to be working.  I asked her how it was going.  She states that she loves her boxes, as she can see everything and rifle through all her clothes. She says that it is easy to put stuff away, as she just flings it in the right box.

The moral of the story, if you live with a pig – give the pig some open labelled boxes. Don’t expect the stuff in the boxes to remain neatly folded (so don’t bother ironing anything), and don’t expect the room to look nice, but at least IT WON’T BE ON THE FLOOR!!!!

One thought on “Living with a PIG!

Leave a Reply

