I am turning into a chicken….

20160522_152728_resizedSorry I haven’t written for a while. I have been running around, back and forth in a panic, flapping my arms and clucking and tutting all over the place.

Have I contracted a new disease?  No…. It’s a very old disease – “Motherhood during the last term of the school year.”

The calendar is filling up very, very fast. Sports days, discos, summer BBQ’s, afternoon tea charity event, football carnival, Glee activity day, parent teacher meetings – blah, blah, blah – on and on and on.  Each time I get an email from school, I’m shuffling things around to fit it all in.

And that doesn’t include the out of school activities.  Kung Fu displays, Guitar concert and rehearsals, Ballet concert, Solo performance and rehearsals.

To top it off, they both have week long trips away, which means buying all sorts of extra kit – including a French themed costume!!!  My wallet is going into free flow.

Is it because the weather is better in this term – well they HOPE the weather will be better in this term?  Is it because all the assessments and exams are winding up?  I don’t know, but I feel like I am running full tilt all the time, constantly worrying that I have forgotten something, haven’t paid for something, haven’t organised Hubby to cover childcare or dropping off/picking up duties.

No wonder summer school holidays are so long, because I think by the time we get there, we will be exhausted and very broke.

Plus, my work has got quite busy, I’m learning lots of new stuff and covering all the other Mum’s who are also trying to fit all these extra things in.  Which is great and I love it, but it’s all a bit manic.

My petrol bill has been quite frightening too, extra rehearsals, pickups, drop offs and I must admit to be driving quite fast to just be in the right place at the right time.

So here is an example.  One Friday – my boy has sports day, which I am meant to attend as part of the school committee, then that evening he has his gaming club from 6.00 – 9.00.  My baby girl – also has sports day which I am meant to attend as a parent, then she has full ballet dress rehearsal from 4.30 to 7.00.  AND also the last school disco from 6.30 to 8.30, which I am meant to attend as part of the committee.  I have no idea how to manage this one and have been doing my chicken flapping just at the thought of it.

We are always so busy anyway – all this extra stuff is just crazy.  Just been chatting online rooster-flapping-wings_0529with one friend about how to organise one day and she is off to have a double gin. So if I don’t post for a while, just picture this and send me some hugs.

Cluck, Cluck, Cluck, Cluck.

One thought on “I am turning into a chicken….

  1. Pingback: Motherhood Guilt | The Mundanity Of It All

Leave a Reply

