Mutton or Lamb?

clothesI acquired a large amount of dress fabric whilst on holiday – it was so cheap compared to the UK, I just had to.  So I am busy planning to make lots of interesting outfits.  I particularly like 1950 style dresses and scour EBay for vintage patterns. I have a very straight up and down body, with a very flat chest area and 50’s dresses make me feel lovely and curvy, but mostly I like them because they are fun and a bit mad.

So I was chatting to my sister about what to make and it suddenly crossed my mind that maybe I shouldn’t be wearing those sort of dresses anymore.  I am nearing the big “50″ after all.  Do I look ridiculous?  Would a young bright thing look at me and think “OMG what is up with that dotty old lady!!”

My sister insists that nobody should tell you what to wear and you should be yourself.  But she also admitted that she does veto her teenage daughter from the more revealing sexy outfits as she is too young (and too gorgeous! :) )

Have certain clothes got an age stamp on them in our minds? Is there an age that you should stop wearing certain things?  I once heard that it was inappropriate for a lady over a certain age to have long hair!  But I look terrible with short hair!!

I do have a couple of personal rules.  Number 1 rule – if I wore a style of clothing in its first trending moment – well then I figure it’s best not to wear it again.  For example ANYTHING from the 80′s – batwing jumpers, neon etc. etc. But that is probably because they are dreadful more than just a rule.

Number 2 rule – if it is or has become unflattering as you have aged, then not okay.  For example I don’t wear miniskirts and bare legs.  The tops of my thighs are not as taught as they once were.  But I will wear them with leggings.  I will not wear leggings on their own, the bumps and rolls and revealing personal bits are just not good on anyone over the age of 12.  I do not wear midriff tops or skin tight dresses because I have a roly poly stretched and saggy tummy.  So I wear appropriate clothes to hide my horrors.

It just happens they are unusual clothes for a middle aged, middle class, boring mummy.  And to be honest as I work from home and in a half finished drafty home, I do mostly wear very comfortable, very warm clothes, but nobody sees me so that is okay.

I have been mulling this over and then I was reminded of an old lady I used to see walking to town.  She had a fondness for hot pink and neon yellow.  She was so over the top and every time I saw her I would smile and she always looked happy.

I think I want to be like that.  If the bright young things roll their eyes at my “creative” style, well I know that someone else might be smiling.  Plus I just haven’t got the personality to be beige and boring and I know that I am getting even battier and even more un-beige as the years go by.  But I am going to celebrate that, because I realise I shouldn’t and don’t care what other people think, as long as my lovely dresses make me smile, then that’s okay.

2 thoughts on “Mutton or Lamb?

  1. i love the 50’s style Fiona, flattering and beautiful fabrics, it also suite me with my curvaceousness-ness lol.
    so i want to share this with you…

    When I Am Old
    When I am an old woman I shall wear purple
    With a red hat that doesn’t go, and doesn’t suit me,
    And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves
    And satin sandals, and say we’ve no money for butter.
    I shall sit down on the pavement when I am tired,
    And gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells,
    And run my stick along the public railings,
    And make up for the sobriety of my youth.
    I shall go out in my slippers in the rain and pick the flowers in other people’s gardens,
    And learn to spit.
    You can wear terrible shirts and grow more fat,
    And eat three pounds of sausages at a go,
    Or only bread and pickle for a week,
    And hoard pens and pencils and beer mats and things in boxes.
    But now we must have clothes that keep us dry,
    And pay our rent and not swear in the street,
    And set a good example for the children.
    We will have friends to dinner and read the papers.
    But maybe I ought to practise a little now?
    So people who know me are not too shocked and surprised,
    When suddenly I am old and start to wear purple!

    Jenny Joseph

    Like

Leave a Reply

